Stuart M. Benjamin portrait

Stuart M. Benjamin
Douglas B. Maggs Professor of Law

Professor Benjamin specializes in telecommunications law, the First Amendment, and administrative law. He has been the Douglas B. Maggs Professor of Law since 2009, and the Associate Dean for Research since 2005. From 2009 to 2011, he was the first Distinguished Scholar at the Federal Communications Commission.  He is a coauthor of Telecommunications Law and Policy (1st ed. 2001, 2nd ed. 2006, 3rd ed. 2012, 4th ed. 2015, 5th ed. forthcoming), has written numerous law review articles, and has testified before House and Senate committees as a legal expert on a range of topics.

Read more


Arti K. Rai portrait

Arti K. Rai
Elvin R. Latty Professor of Law

Professor Rai is an internationally recognized expert in intellectual property (IP) law, administrative law, and health policy. Rai has also taught at Harvard, Yale, and the University of Pennsylvania law schools.  Rai's research on IP law and policy in biotechnology, pharmaceuticals, and software has been funded by NIH, the Kauffman Foundation, and the Woodrow Wilson Center. She has published over 50 articles, essays, and book chapters on IP law, administrative law, and health policy.  Her publications have appeared in both peer-reviewed journals and law reviews, including Science, the New England Journal of Medicine, the Journal of Legal Studies, Nature Biotechnology, and the Columbia, Georgetown, and Northwestern law reviews. She is the editor of Intellectual Property Law and Biotechnology: Critical Concepts (Edward Elgar, 2011) and the co-author of a 2012 Kauffman Foundation monograph on cost-effective health care innovation.  From 2009-2010, Rai served as the Administrator of the Office of External Affairs at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). As External Affairs Administrator, Rai led policy analysis of the patent reform legislation that ultimately became the America Invents Act and worked to establish the USPTO’s Office of the Chief Economist.

Read more


Affiliated Fellows

Lidiya Mishchenko
Research Fellow

Lidiya Mishchenko is a Research Fellow for the Center and a Visiting Assistant Professor at Duke Law School. Her primary academic interests are in the intersection of patent law, administrative law, and competition policy. She has published in The George Washington Law Review, the Santa Clara High Technology Law Journal, and the Journal of the Patent and Trademark Office Society. Prior to joining the Duke Law faculty, Mishchenko served as a law clerk to The Honorable Timothy B. Dyk of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. Before clerking, she was a patent litigation associate at Jones Day in San Francisco, a patent prosecution associate at Fish & Richardson in Silicon Valley, and a technology specialist at WilmerHale in Boston. Mishchenko graduated in the top 1% of her class from The George Washington University Law School in 2016. She received a Ph.D. in Applied Physics from Harvard University’s School of Engineering and Applied Sciences in 2012 and her B.S., summa cum laude, in Physics from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, in 2007. » Read more


Saurabh Vishnubhakat
Research Fellow

Saurabh Vishnubhakat is a Research Fellow of the Center, serving since 2014. Prof. Vishnubhakat holds a joint appointment as Professor at Texas A&M University in the School of Law and the Dwight Look College of Engineering. He writes and teaches on intellectual property law, civil procedure, and administrative law, particularly from an empirical perspective. Prof. Vishnubhakat has published in a variety of journals, including the Berkeley Technology Law Journal, Duke Law & Technology Review, Harvard Journal of Law and Technology, Duke Law Journal, and the Journal of Economic Perspectives. His first book, A Tort Theory of Patent Litigation: History and Reform is under contract with Cambridge University Press. Prior to entering academia, he was principal legal advisor to the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office's chief economist. Prof. Vishnubhakat holds a J.D. and LL.M. in intellectual property from the University of New Hampshire School of Law and a B.S. from the Georgia Institute of Technology, and is admitted to the state bars of Texas and Illinois.


Affiliated Duke Faculty

Ashish Arora, Senior Associate Dean for Strategy; Rex D. Adams Professor of Business Administration, The Fuqua School of Business

Edward J. Balleisen, Vice Provost of Interdisciplinary Studies; Professor, The Sanford School of Public Policy; Professor, History, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences; Faculty Network Member of The Energy Initiative

Sharon Belenzon, Professor, The Fuqua School of Business

Aaron (Ronnie) Chatterji, Mark Burgess & Lisa Benson-Burgess Distinguished Professor, The Fuqua School of Business; Professor, The Sanford School of Public Policy

Wesley M. Cohen, Snow Family Professor of Business Administration, Professor of Economics and Management, and Faculty Director of the Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation, The Fuqua School of Business; Professor, Department of Economics; Professor, Duke Law

John M. de Figueiredo, Russell M. Robinson II Professor of Law, Strategy, and Economics, Duke Law and The Fuqua School of Business

Nita A. FarahanyRobinson O. Everett Professor of Law, Duke Law; Professor of Philosophy, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences; Chair, Duke MA in Bioethics & Science Policy; Founding Director, Duke Initiative for Science and Society; Principal Investigator of SLAP Lab

Jon Fjeld, Director, Duke Innovation & Entrepreneurship Initiative; Professor of the Practice, The Fuqua School of Business; Professor of Philosophy, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences; Executive Director, Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation (Fuqua)

Michael D. FrakesA. Kenneth Pye Professor of Law, Duke Law; Professor, Department of Economics, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

Geoffrey Steven Ginsburg, Professor of Medicine and Professor of Pathology, Duke School of Medicine; Professor, Duke School of Nursing; Member, Duke Cancer Institute; Director of Duke Center for Applied Genomics and Precision Medicine

Jerome H. Reichman, Bunyan S. Womble Professor of Law, Duke Law

David B. Ridley, Dr. and Mrs. Frank A. Riddick Professor of the Practice and Faculty Director of the Health Sector Management program, The Fuqua School of Business

David T. Robinson, James and Gail Vander Weide Distinguished Professor and Professor of Business Administration, The Fuqua School of Business; Director of Research, Duke Innovation & Entrepreneurship Initiative

Jonathan B. Wiener, William R. and Thomas L. Perkins Professor of Law, Duke Law; Professor of Environmental Policy, Nicholas School of the Environment; Professor of Public Policy, The Sanford School of Public Policy; Co-Director, Rethinking Regulation program; University Fellow, Resources for the Future, Duke University